Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Peter M. McCoy Jr. Kristian C. Bell Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE May 26, 2017

Senator Luke Rankin, the Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, announces the following new appointments to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission: Senators Luke Rankin, Ronnie A. Sabb, and Tom Young Jr. On May 23, 2017, the Commission elected Senator Luke Rankin to serve as Vice-Chairman of the Commission. Representative G. Murrell Smith Jr., will continue to serve as Chairman.

The Commission was created in 1997 by a state constitutional provision and state statutes to investigate and determine the qualifications and fitness of judicial candidates for all positions on the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit Court, Family Court, and Administrative Law Court. The Commission also screens candidates for appointment to Master-in-Equity positions, as well as retired judges for continued service through subsequent appointment by the Chief Justice of the SC Supreme Court.

For questions, please contact:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202 (803) 212-6689